Keogh Review

Updated 12 May 2016

Background

The Keogh teams reviewed the quality of the care and treatment provided by 14 hospital trusts in England, including ours, between February and June 2013. Read more below.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) issued a report on 5 November 2013, following an inspection at our Trust, regarding the quality of some services for cancer patients.

The Trust was placed subsequently into special measures by Monitor in November 2013. Read more on our CQC Review webpage.

The Keogh team returned in February 2014 for a follow-up assurance review of their original visit.

Our Trust operates as an NHS Foundation Trust on special measures, led by its Board of Directors.


See the latest CQC rating by clicking the image below and scrolling down that page.

Care Quality Commission Ratings


Performance Dashboard

Our latest Improvement Plan Performance Dashboard, pictured, can be found every week on our Improvements page.










Special Measures Quality Improvement Programme 2016-17 Update

Read our latest Special Measures Quality Improvement Programme 2016-17 Update, pictured, can be found every week on our CQC Review webpage.












Read the feedback from our last NHS England Site visit in April 2015 by visiting our CQC Review webpage and scrolling down that page.


Timeline

February 2013 | The announcement

Professor Sir Bruce Keogh

In February, the Prime Minister announced that he had asked Professor Sir Bruce Keogh (right), NHS Medical Director for England, to review 14 hospital trusts, including our Trust, that are persistent outliers on mortality indicators (see February's Mainstream, page 10). About the Review

On 11 February, Sir Bruce announced a further nine organisations that will be looked at as part of his investigation, making a final list of 14 hospital trusts.

And on 27 February Sir Bruce announced the members of the National Advisory Group which will guide his review into the 14 trusts.

March 2013 | People encouraged to contribute

"We want the voices of staff and patients to be represented as comprehensively as possible."

Information was published in March to tell people how they could contribute to the review into the quality of care and treatment provided by the 14 hospital trusts.

Chief Executive Dr Gordon Coutts wrote at the time: "We are encouraging as many people and organisations as possible to make their views known. We want to hear comments, both positive and negative, so that the voices of staff and patients are represented as comprehensively as possible. We will inform our MPs, our governors, the clinical commissioning groups and other stakeholders how they can provide feedback.

"So please take part and encourage our patients, their carers and family members to make representations and comments. The more feedback, the better."

We published an A4-size flyer to download, print and give to patients, their carers and family members, patient groups.

In early May we wrote to all 7,000+ public and 4,200+ staff members about the Keogh Review.

May 2013 | Public encouraged to join Keogh "listening events"

On 24 May we were given the go-ahead to make an announcement that "members of the public are being encouraged to join 'listening events' being held in Colchester and Clacton on Tuesday 4 June 2013 as part of the Keogh Review."

We advertised the events in our May 2013 edition of Mainstream magazine. We emailed our 1,700 public members with an email address. We updated this webpage and our Facebook Page on 24 May. We issued a press release and held a press conference on the day itself, attended by local radio, TV and newspapers.

4 June 2013 | Final stages

On 4 June a 30-strong review team including clinicians, patients, managers and regulators, led by Liz Redfern, Chief Nurse for NHS England South, arrived at the Trust.

The review team sent a draft report to the Trust ahead of a Risk Summit on 2 July with three of our Executive Team. At the summit a team of experts from across health bodies, including regulators, worked together to assess evidence gathered by the review team. The summit will decide what additional external support or action - if any - will be needed to secure further improvements.

Data packs, Key Lines of Enquiry (KLOEs), agendas and panel biographies for each Trust are on this page of the NHS Choices website.

On Tuesday 16 July their final report into all 14 trusts will be published on the NHS Choices website. We will also publish the same documents on this webpage.

On 16 July, Sir Bruce will also release a final Keogh Review Report setting out recommendations for the future.

You can read a longer version of this story in the June/July edition of Mainstream magazine.

16 July 2013 | Publication

On Tuesday 16 July the final reports into all 14 trusts were published on the NHS Choices website.

You can read our statement here:
"Trust accepts Keogh report... and promises swift action"

For ease, our reports are reproduced here:

You can read a statement from independent regulator Monitor here: "Health sector regulator puts six foundation trusts in special measures" (Note: bear in mind that nine of the 14 are foundation trusts: six have been put on special measures by Monitor. Our Trust is not one of these. Eleven have been put on special measures by the Secretary of State for Health. Our Trust is not one of these either.)

On 16 July, Sir Bruce also released his National Overview Report (1,149 kb), which summarises the key findings of the review, setting out his recommendations for the future.

Read more about the Keogh Review into the 14 trusts on the NHS Choices website.

Autumn 2013 | Four-page update

In the autumn of 2013 we published a four-page update showing the progress being made against the required actions in our Keogh Review plan.

November 2013 | Special measures

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) issued a report on 5 November 2013, following an inspection at our Trust, regarding the quality of some services for cancer patients. The Chief Inspector of Hospitals recommended that our Trust should be placed in to special measures.

The Trust was placed into special measures by Monitor on 14 November 2013.

Read more on our CQC Review 2013 webpage

February 2014 | Follow-up Assurance Review

Here is the report on the February 2014 follow-up assurance review of the Trust by a panel of experts led by Dr David Levy, Medical Director, NHS England Midlands and East is now available.


About the 2013 Review

The Keogh Review will be guided by the NHS values set out in the NHS Constitution and underpinned by the following principles:


How you could have contributed

The deadline for feedback was 30 June 2013 and was advertised on the NHS Choices website.

Should you wish to make a formal complaint about our Trust, please follow our complaints procedure.

Or, should you wish to send a compliment, or other feedback, please visit our compliments and feedback page.