Menu Links

The Oncology Care Team

The Oncology Department has a dedicated multi-disciplinary team who will be caring for you during your treatment.

Consultant Team

Clinical Director of Oncology - Dr. Rana Mahmood

Consultant Clinical Oncologists

Associate specialist in Clinical Oncology

Other Doctors

Specialist Registrars - The oncology department also has two specialist registrars each who are in the department working alongside the oncologists as part of a training programme from Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge.

Junior Doctors - West Bergholt Ward has junior doctors who have their placements in oncology for 6 months at a time.

Radiotherapy Team

Head of Radiotherapy - Sonia Tankard is responsible for managing the team of dedicated oncology therapeutic radiographers and nurses within the Radiotherapy Centre.

Consultant Radiographer - Keir Williamson (Breast Specialist)

Pre-treatment Lead Radiographers - Jacqueline Cheyne and Louise Coley

Treatment Lead Radiographers - Josephine Allen and Beverly Scutcher

Information and Support Radiographers - Geraldine Irvine and Gillian Hobbs

Advanced Practice Radiographers - Clair Mckeown (Imaging), Sharon Pearse (Skin specialist), Ruth Turrell (ENT specialist) and Monica Norris (Brachytherapy Specialist)

Quality Management System Lead - Gail Threlfall

Nursing Team - Tanya Leaning, Katherine Searle and Diane Vernon provide clinical review clinics to manage side effects of radiotherapy.

Counselor Support - Macmillan Counselors are available for telephone and face to face consultations.

Radiotherapy Physics (part of the Department of Medical Physics) - Mark Porter is responsible for the work of a team of Physicists, Mould Room Technicians, Treatment Planning staff and Engineers who ensure the safety and quality of radiotherapy treatments given to patients.

Clinical Trials - Celine Driscoll is the lead clinical trials radiographer responsible for recruiting patients on to trials.

Administration and Clerical Team

This work, as well as supporting the treatment units is carried out by the radiotherapy support officers lead by Gemma Steggles - team leader.